The Ask by Sam Lipsyte

Mike’s review

Think I confused Lipsyte with Sam Seder. Then again, maybe it was Lipsyte on WTF. Michael Florida as Marc Maron sex addict sounds familiar. (Without actually listening to the episodes again, based only on a Google search, I think it was Lipsyte.)

The effluent language was a thrill, but got old fast, especially after a few days of not reading. Very hard to come back to.

Using Christian names instead of mom and dad (especially when mom is now gay and lover’s name is used as much as mom’s) is difficult to follow. This is far and away my biggest complaint, always. It must be my inattentive reading that leads me to getting lost in names.

I finished this at least a week or two ago and am only now getting around to putting something up here. If I didn’t take these few notes there would be no post. Not that the book was bad. I just don’t really remember it. It didn’t leave much of an impression on me. I used to like to read. What happened?

I think I’m going to have to go back and re-read the Redwall books and see if I ever actually liked to read or if I just pretended because I had no friends and wanted to appear better than everyone else.

Leave a Reply

