The Alchemist by Paolo Coelho

This book is overrated I think, but then I wonder, why was it a bestseller in 41 languages? I know not.

Would be a good read for a younger person than myself; maybe I’ve read too much hype about it. I felt its message to be not so profound: “you are the master of your fate.” Well, no kidding.

In this story, women are referred to as prizes, which seems to exclude them from seeking their own destiny. BLAH! This is an antiquated (and annoying) way of thinking about 50% of humanity.

I might read Coehlo’s other books, though, because the poetic language is pleasant in a dreamy, neutral way.

Leave a Reply

