Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Mike’s review

There will be no plot summary, because every new development is a lot of fun and to go into the plot here would be too spoilery and ruin too much of the fun. But I have to mention a couple things in order to talk about this at all. So mild spoilers included a couple times. One major one, but I’ll mark that separately.

_____

Don’t want to stop reading, but I have to work tomorrow morning.

One more chapter. It’s fine.

Hopefully this ghost story doesn’t give me nightmares.

____

“In a sense he supposed he had always used [guitars] as weapons” is irresistible as a writer. Bad, but unavoidable. Necessary and ripe. Candy corn on Halloween.

_____

Holy fuck. This is all so creepy.

_____

Holy fuck. Blowjob murder with a snuff film in the background.

_____

Stop-motion ghost is surprisingly effective.

_____

So good that I’m paying attention enough to notice when Jude calls Georgia Florida, which I would normally miss due to similar names.

_____

“If hell was anything, it was talk radio–and family.”

_____

Jude watching Ruth be taken is crazy intense.

_____

It’s nice to see the impish troll of Joe Hill’s Twitter come out in his writing [this is the spoiler alert part] when Marybeth dies and Jude wants to call Bammy.

_____

The old man fucking an abused child–now 18 year old–joke on the second to last page probably wasn’t necessary. Not exactly how I want this to end.

2 thoughts on “Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

  1. I’m still reading this. Fortunately, I deftly scrolled past the bottom in time before encountering any major spoilers 🙂 I thought this one was a little rough around the edges, but there were some incredible moments in the story. I really liked the description of Craddock’s ghost. Like you, I thought the stop-motion was really creative and fun to try and picture in my head.

  2. Pingback: NOS4A2 by Joe Hill | The Heart of Literature

Leave a Reply

