The Keep by Jennifer Egan

Mike’s review

The introduction of an “I” narrator on page 14 is so unnerving, I feel Danny must be mentally ill.

And he has a name and a story separate from the original story and holy shit.

But his name isn’t his name, which is kinda cheap. I mean, fiction and all. (I don’t exactly know what this note meant. I believe it means that I was suckered it and surprised at the reveal at the end, but I’m not sure.)

_____

I don’t believe for a second that a mother of youngish girls in 2006 doesn’t have a cell phone.

_____

I’m surprised that’s all I wrote for notes. I remember really liking this book. Well, suppose I should write down things when I like them, not just when I hate them, huh. It’s so unlike me to focus on the negative instead of the positive.

Leave a Reply

